Skip to content


Photos from the Conference

Professor Pascale Quester opening the Conference.

Terry Williamson introducing J Kendrick Distinguished ASA Fellow.

J Kendrick receiving the Distinguished ASA Fellow Award from Professor Pascale Quester.

Professor George Zillante introducing the keynote speaker.

Lisa Heschong - Keynote Speaker, Author of Thermal Delight in Architecture.

Professor Richard de Dear - Keynote Speaker Day 2.

Industry Professor James Hayter - Keynote Speaker Day 3.

Prof Richard de Dear leading the IEQ workshop.

Associate Professor Veronica Soebarto - Conference Chair

Session at the Exhibition Hall.

Session at the Gallery.

ASA Fellows - Prof George Baird, Prof Richard Hyde, AProf Terry Williamson and Chris Murphy.

ASA Student Travel Award recipient Matheus Santos with ASA President Marc Aurel Schnabel.

Best Student Paper on Simulation Award recipient Erzine Braasch with IBPSA Australasia President Dr Paul Bannister

Conference participants.

Conference Dinner at Adelaide Oval.

View from Adelaide Oval.

View from Conference Dinner at the Adelaide Oval.


New Venue for the Conference

Due to many exams being held during the Conference period, which limit the areas that can be accessed by conference participants inside and outside the Napier Building (where the Conference was going to be held), we will now hold the Conference in the award-winning University of Adelaide’s National Wine Centre building, about 500 meters to the east of the University of Adelaide North Terrace campus. For details visit:

ASA 2016 Conference Oral Presentation Guideline

The allocated time for each presentation is 15 minutes including Q & A. There is no limit for the number of slides/visual aids you can show as long as your whole presentation and Q & A will occur within those 15 minutes.
If intending to use Power Point, we suggest you use this template.

Please include your Paper ID and your last name in the file of your presentation, e.g. 1111_Lname.ppt or 1111_Lname.pdf.

Your presentation file must be uploaded onto the computer in the Speaker’s Room up to 30 minutes before your presentation. Please try and open your presentation file in this room to make sure the file will open correctly. However, as a backup, please bring a USB with your presentation file to your presentation.

“Introduction to Sefaira” Workshop

In collaboration with the School of Architecture, Art and Design at The University of South Australia, a workshop on 'Introduction to Sefaira' will be held at:
The University of South Australia
Jeffrey Smart Building, City West Campus,
6 December 2016
9:30am – 4:30pm.

As there are only up to 30 places, please register by sending an email to
The workshop will cost $100 per seat (information about the payment will be sent in an email to those who registered).

Please note that the workshop will be cancelled if there are less than 12 people registered by 30 October, 2016.

Tour to McLaren Vale and Star of Greece

Want to explore parts of South Australia after the Conference without having to drive around by yourself?

Des’s Minibus is pleased to offer a tour to McLaren Vale and Port Willunga (Star of Greece) on Saturday 10 December 2016, from 11 – 4:30 pm.
11 am – Depart from Adelaide Convention Centre
12 pm - Coriole Vineyard, Chaffeys Road, McLaren Vale. Wine tastings
1 pm - Hastwell & Lightfoot Winery, McLaren Vale. Lunch (platters)
2:35 pm – Star of Greece. Free time on the beach. Coffee etc at own expense
4:30 pm – Arrive at Adelaide Convention Centre

Minimum of 10 people required.
All invoices organised by Des’s Minibus, which include lunch at Hastwell & Lightfoot Winery and tastings at Coriole.
For cancellations by Friday 2nd December 2016, full refund will be processed.
For cancellations on/after Saturday 3rd December 2016, 50% (=$30.00pp) will be refunded.

Contact to book:
Elke Brintrup Krueger
Des's Minibus
10 Bacon St, Hindmarsh 5007
Phone:  +61 8 8440 1600
Tour number 1055892


School of Architecture
& Built Environment

Faculty of the Professions


The University of Adelaide
SA 5005
North Tce Campus Map


Telephone: +61 8 8313 5836
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 4377
Staff Directory:
School of Architecture & Built Environment
Enquire online now

Unified: Current Student Portal